Saturday, August 28, 2010

Cuba - Province Coat of Arms 1966

Prior to 1976, Cuba was divided into the following provinces (from west to east):
1 Pesos - Pinar del Río
2 Pesos - La Habana, contained the present day province of La Habana and included the city of Havana
3 Pesos -Matanzas
4 Pesos - Las Villas (before 1940, "Santa Clara"), contained the present day provinces of Cienfuegos, Villa Clara and Sancti Spíritus
5 Pesos - Camagüey (before 1899, "Puerto Príncipe"), contained the present day provinces of Camagüey and Ciego de Ávila
9 Pesos - Oriente (before 1905, "Santiago de Cuba"), contained the present day provinces of Las Tunas, Granma, Holguín, Santiago de Cuba and Guantánamo
13 Pesos - National Arms

Now Cuba have 14 provinces & 1 special municipality.
Administratively, Cuba is divided into fourteen provinces and one special municipality not included in any province.
In August 2010 it was approved by the Cuban National Assembly, to split Havana province in two new provinces: Artemisa (which incorporates the 3 eastern municipalities of the neighbour Pinar del Río) and Mayabeque.
The new provinces will start functioning from January 1st, 2011.
Havana city Province (Ciudad de La Habana) will them recover its original name: La Habana.

From west to east, Cuba's provinces are:
1. Pinar del Río
2. La Habana (to be replaced starting from January 1st, 2011 by Artemisa and Mayabeque)

3. Ciudad de La Habana (to be renamed to La Habana)

4. Matanzas

5. Cienfuegos

6. Villa Clara

7. Sancti Spíritus

8. Ciego de Ávila

9. Camagüey

10. Las Tunas

11. Granma

12. Holguín

13. Santiago de Cuba

14. Guantánamo

Cuba's "special municipality" is the Isla de la Juventud ("Island of Youth"), known until the 1970s as the Isla de Pinos ("Isle of Pines") and previously as "Evangelista", "Isle of Santiago" and "Isle of Parrots".

No comments: