Saturday, May 2, 2009

China - The 50th Anniversary of The Founding of Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region 2005

The 50th Anniversary of The Founding of Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region
Date of Issue: 01 October 2005
Serial Number: 2005-21
Values in Set: 3
Denomination: 2.40 Yuan
Designer of Stamps: Liu Bingjiang
Size of Stamp: 40 x 30 mm
Perforation: 12 x 12.5 mm
Sheet Composition: 9 (3 Sets)
Size of Sheet: 166 x 156 mm
Printing Process: Offset
Printing: Shenyang Post & Telecom Printing House of Liaoning Province

(3-1) 80 fen - J Song of a New Chapter
(3-2) 80 fen - J Ode to Joy
(3-3) 80 fen - J Song of Bumper Harvest

Background Informations:

On 01 October 2005, the state Post Bureau will issue a three-piece set of commemorative stamps, "The 50th Anniversary of the Founding of Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region", with a total face value of 2.40 Yuan. The pictures on the stamps are named "Song of a New Chapter", "Ode to Joy", and "Song of Bumper Harvest", respectively.

Located in China's northwest frontier, Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Regions is the largest provincial area in China, where many ethnic groups live. Bordering on eight countries, Xinjiang is where the main route of the ancient Silk Road ran through. Xinjiang Ugyur Autonomous Region was founded on 01 October 1955. During the past 50 years, under the leadership of the central government and with its support, the people of all ethnic groups in Xinjiang live in harmony and have made remarkable contributions to the prosperity and solidarity of the large family of the Chinese nation. The Xinjiang people and the army stationed there have striven to develop, build, and defend the frontier, and made historical achievements in all aspects of Xinjiang's economy and society.

Geographical Location:

Situated in the northwest of China Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region was known in China as the Western Territory in ancient times. Capital city is Urumqi.

Its 1.66 million square kilometers represent about one-sixth of the total territory of the largest of China's regions and provinces. Xinjiang also has the longest boundary among China's provinces and autonomous regions and shares 5,600 kilometers of frontier with Mongolia in the northeast, then Russia, Kazakhstan, Kryrgyzstan, and Tajikistan in the west, and then Afghanistan, Pakistan, and India in the soutwest.

No comments: