Monday, October 1, 2012

Thailand - Provincial Emblem 2008 (3th Series)

Provincial Emblem (3rd Series) Postage Stamps

Country / Post: Thailand
Date of Issue: 10 October 2008
Primary theme: National symbols (Coats of Arms)
Subject: Provincial Emblem Stamps
Width: 45.5 mm
Height: 45.5 mm
Denomination: 3.00 THB
Number in set: 10
Layout/Format: Miniature Sheet of 10 of 10 Designs
: 13 by 13
Stamp issuing authority: The Communications Authority of Thailand
Province is called "Changwat" in Thai which change from "Muang" since King Rama VI. Thailand is devided into 75 provinces and special governed districts : the capital Bangkok, of which is also at a province level. So some Thai people count Bangkok as a province, making Thailand has 76 provinces.
The seals of the provinces in Thailand are derived from the official seals of the provincial governors during the period of absolute monarchy and the seals on the scouts' standards during the fourteen cycles or the Monthon admistration in the reigns if King Rama VI and King Rama VII. In 1941, the government, under the preniership of Field Marshal of Fine Arts was responsible for designing the seal according to the wishes of each province. Today, when a new province is established, the seal of the new province will be designed and some of former seals may have to be been changed or adjusted as appropriate.
The first stamp series have 20 stamps of first provincial emblem sorted by Thai alphabet of their name are following:

- The Phaya Pattani cannon--the weapon that protected the City of Pattani from invaders.
Pha Nakhon Si Ayutthaya
- A clockwise design Conch placed on a gold tray housed in a Prasat building, located under a Cordia Dichotoma tree. This was the place where King Uthong performed the ceremony for the establistment Ayutthaya as the capital city.
- A mine dredger, which is a symbol of the main occupation of the natives of Phang-nga, the Tapu Mount and the elephant-like lofty mountain, which are the important tourist attractions of the province.
- The Pass through the Mountains, which stands tall and can be seen in all directions from afar, suggests the settlement of Phatthalung natives and the fact that that they do not have to move around any longer.
- The Phra Chao Tonluang Buddha Image in Wat Sri Komkum is the centre of unity for the natives of Phayao. The back of the Buddha Image depicts the prosperity of the seven districts of the province through its flamboyant gold designs.
- The Sra Luang Pond, which bears the former name of the province, and a Bodhi tree in Wat Bodhi Pratub Chang.
- The Phra Buddha Jinaraj Image, erected by the royal command of Phra Maha Dhammaraja 1st (King Lithai) in 1362, is one of the most beautiful Buddha images in Thailand.
- The Khao Wang rice fields and palmyra trees are symbols of the province.
- A diamond set as a ring, hovering upside down in the sky over the mountains and a tobacco plantation--all of which have been placed in a falmboyant designed circle.
- A standing horse with the Pra That Chor Hae, an old place of homage in the province of Phrae, in the background.
Quantity of stamps: 900,000 Stamps

Sheet Composition: 10 stamps per sheet
Printing Process: Lithography Multi-colour

Designer: Mr.Udon Niyomthum (Thailand Post Company Limited)
FDC Price: 100 Baht (Saleable at a set of 10 covers)

Quantity of FDC: 12,000 covers
Size : 38 mm. Diameter
Printer : Joh. Enschedé Stamps Security Printers B.V., Haarlem Netherlands

No comments: